Next Article

Lehigh University Awards Honor Distinguished Colleagues

Print Article

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the 2010-2011 Lehigh University Awards. The criteria for each award can be read on the Awards website.

Staff Awards:

ERAC Distinguished Service Award: Heidi Casiano, Advancement, for her combination of extremely high competence, managerial and interpersonal skills. 

Paul J. Franz Award: John Foley, Athletics. Jack received this award for excellence in his work caring for Lehigh’s student athletes and his consistent devotion to Lehigh University.

John W. and Barbara R. Woltjen Award: Louise Adams, Child Care Center. She was nominated by parents wishing to honor her exceptional dedication to their children.

Perry and Carol Zirkel Nonexempt Staff Award: Kathy Plotts, P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science. Her nominators noted that her commitment to supporting the mission of the college and the Dean’s Office is “legendary.”

Louis and Helen Zirkel Library Staff Award: Helen Zuercher, LTS Administration and Planning. Her nominators stated that she is “one of the people who make a difference at Lehigh.”

Lehigh University Award for Distinguished Service: Vivien Steele, English Department. Her work includes coordinating more than 1,000 first-year students, exemplifying “sustained excellence” in everything she does.

Alfred Nobel Robinson Staff Award: Nancy Merritt, Alumni Relations. Nancy’s numerous efforts with student leaders and young alumni will benefit Lehigh for years to come.

Hillman Nonexempt Staff Award: Anne Noon-Scaggs, Community Relations.  Anne is not only highly organized and dependable, she goes above and beyond to represent Lehigh in the community.

Hillman Exempt Staff Award: Lisa Getzler-Linn, Baker Institute and Integrated Product Design Program (IPD). Managing sponsors, students, senior peer mentors and more, she has had a major impact on advancing the role of entrepreneurship at Lehigh.


Faculty Awards:

Robert C. and Virginia L. Williamson Award for Social Research: Bruce Moon, International Relations, for his paper “Long Time Coming: Prospects for Democracy in Iraq” in the journal International Security.

Carl R. and Ingeborg Beidleman Research Award in Business and Economics: Paul Brockman, Finance and Law. Paul has developed a reputation in his field through consistent publication in top finance journals.

Robert and Christine Staub Faculty Excellence Award in Business and Economics: Robert Trent, Department of Management. Bob has been instrumental in designing and expanding the Supply Chain Management program.

Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Early Career Research Award: Eugenio Schuster, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics. Eugenio’s impressive early record of research and publication includes 30 journal articles and multiple grants.

Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Research Award: Lee Kern
, College of Education. Lee is considered one of the nation’s leading experts on emotion and behavior disorders in youth, authoring books, chapters, and 60 journal articles.

Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation Award: Emory Zimmers, Industrial and Systems Engineering. Over his four decade career, Emory has kept his students at the forefront of manufacturing systems thinking and practice.

Lehigh Junior Award for Distinguished Teaching:  Suzanne Edwards, English Department, and Michelle LeMaster, History Department. Suzanne’s students emphasize her rigor and supportiveness. A graduate student noted, “Our students are fortunate to have an instructor as pedagogically gifted as Michelle LeMaster

Alfred Nobel Robinson Faculty Award: Chad Meyerhoefer, Department of Economics. Chad played a lead role in developing a major overhaul to the Ph.D. program in the College of Business and Economics.

Donald B. and Dorothy L. Stabler Award for Excellence in Teaching: Hyun Tae Jung, Art, Architecture and Design, and Richard Vinci, Materials Science and Engineering. Hyun’s students wrote “The word ‘dedication’ doesn’t even begin to encompass” his commitment.  Of his teaching, Richard’s student wrote, “…few come close to matching the impact.”

Hillman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Student Advising: Raymond Pearson, Materials Science and Engineering. An advisee praised Raymond, “Four years ago I was a naïve freshman. Now I am a prepared research engineer.

Hillman Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Advising: Anand Jagota, Chemical Engineering. “While he could easily present us with all the answers,” one nominator wrote, “he provides us with the resources for independent thinking.”

R.R. and E.C. Hillman Faculty Award: Ned Heindel, Chemistry Department. His nominators wrote, “Put simply, Ned is a world-renowned medicinal chemist with more than 280 publications and numerous patents.”


HR News

Workplace Learning & Wellness Programs

View Full Calendar

Spotlight is published monthly by Human Resources. Please address any comments to Hillary Kwiatek, Spotlight Editor, Human Resources, 428 Brodhead Avenue, send email to, or call extension 85165.

Current and past issues of Spotlight can be viewed and searched at: Past Issues.